Edgar A. Baker, one of the first persons to become a member of East Mt. Airy Neighbors, left an enviable record of personal commitment to the improvement of East Mt. Airy and Germantown.  Although he worked on many projects, his main concerns were youth and education.  Besides giving his guidance and counsel to the Education Committee, he was also concerned with positive relations between the community and the police.  

Shortly after his death, the EMAN Board of Directors established an award in his name.  It was decided that this award should be given to the person in Northwest Philadelphia who shows the kind of dedication that Ed gave throughout his life.  In 1972, the EMAN Board honored Mrs. Mary Baker; as a tribute to the gallant service given by her late husband.

Subsequent recipients of the Edgar Baker Award, who have made significant contributions to the betterment of East Mt. Airy are:

1972 Mary Baker
1973 Edward Bristol
1974 No award
1975 Rudolph Gelsey
1976 Eversley Vaughan
1977 Margaret Halsey
1978 Dennis & LaVonne Johnson
1979 Ronald Lutz
1980 William Ewing
1981 Betty & Ralph Warshaw
1982 Mark Gilbert
1983 Bernice Rigmaiden
1984 Jane Brock

1985 Robert A. Iadicicco
1986 Patricia S. Beach
1987 Catherine Chester
1988 Robert Elfant
1989 Samuel F. Long
1990 Anne C. Ewing
1991 Ernestine O’Connor
1992 David Bell
1993 Ernest Covington
1994 Susan Simon
1995 Naomi Pryluck
1996 Richard H. Davis
1997 Yvonne DeVastey

1998 Betty Ann Fellner
1999 Patricia Lewis
2000 Louis W. Cuff
2001 Lou and Sheila Incognito
2002 Eleanore Pabarue
2003 Dutch Klugman
2004 Elvira Evans
2005 Barbara Bloom
2006 Janet Amato
2007 Rev. Dr. Philip D.W. Krey
2008 Zakiyyah Abdul-Raheem
2009 Derek Green
2010 Greg Williams